The Board

Our Board of Directors consists of three executive directors who are responsible for implementing strategy, identifying objectives and managing the day to day operations of the business. We also have three Non-Executive Directors, two of whom are independent, who provide advice and guidance to the business. Our Non-Executive Chairman is John Nichols, the grandson of the inventor of Vimto.

John Nichols

Non-Executive Chairman

John is the grandson of the founder of the Company and inventor of Vimto, John Noel Nichols. John joined Nichols plc in 1971 and was appointed as Director in 1975. In 1986 John became the Group Managing Director, subsequently he became Executive Chairman of the Group and in 2007 he moved to Non-Executive Chairman.

John has three grown up children and three grandchildren. John’s two sons both work in the Company. John enjoys spending time with his family and using his spare time sailing, playing golf and walking his dog on the beach in Wales.

Marnie Millard OBE

Chief Executive Officer

Marnie joined Nichols in October 2012 as Managing Director of Vimto Soft Drinks. In May 2013 she was appointed Chief Executive Officer. Marnie has vast experience in the soft drinks industry having occupied senior roles with Macaw Soft Drinks and Refresco Limited.

In April 2016, Marnie was appointed Regional Chair of CBI Northwest and she is on the Board of Management and Executive Council of the British Soft Drinks Association. Marnie joined the Board of the Finsbury Food Group in February 2016 as a Non- Executive Director. Marnie was awarded an OBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours in 2018 for services to international trade and businesses in North West England.

Marnie is married, has two children and is also a proud grandmother. Marnie enjoys attending concerts and relaxes by walking on the moors near her home.

David Rattigan

Chief Financial Officer

David joined the Group as CFO at the end of February 2020 from McBride PLC where he had worked for the previous 6 years. David has previously held senior financial and general management positions at Cheshire Constabulary, Premier Foods PLC and United Biscuits Limited having started his career with ICI PLC.

David is married to Debbie and has 4 sons. He enjoys Football, Sailing and generally being in the great outdoors as much as possible in his spare time.

Andrew Milne

Chief Operating Officer

Andrew joined Nichols as the Commercial Director for Vimto Soft Drinks in July 2013. He was appointed to the plc Board on 1st January 2016.

Andrew also has extensive experience in the soft drinks industry having previously worked as Sales Director for the Northern region at Coca Cola Enterprises and prior to that, as Trading Director at GlaxoSmithKline.

Andrew is married to Debbie and they have two children. Andrew is a keen Manchester United fan and spends what spare time he has either watching or playing sport.

John Gittins

Independent Non-Executive Director

John is a graduate of the London School of Economics and a chartered accountant. He was appointed to the Board of Nichols as an Independent Non-Executive Director in July 2015 and is a member of both the Audit Committee (which he chairs) and the Remuneration Committee.

John is currently Audit Committee Chair of AIM listed Park Group plc and has over 20 years experience of CFO roles in companies such as Begbies Traynor Group plc, Spring Group plc and Vertex Data Science Limited. John was also previously an independent Non-Executive Director and the Audit Committee chair of Electricity North West Limited for six years.

Helen Keays

Independent Non-Executive Director

Helen joined Nichols in September 2017. After a career in Consumer Marketing at organisations such as GE Capital, Sears and Vodafone, Helen has developed significant experience working as a Non-Executive Director.

She is currently SID at Dominos Pizza Group Plc and was previously the Chair of Remcom at Communisis Plc. She has previously held NED roles at Majestic Wines Plc, Skin Clinics and Chrysalis Plc.

Helen is married with 2 teenage children who keep her busy watching their sports matches. In her spare time she likes to play tennis. Helen is also a Life Trustee of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust.

James Nichols

Independent Non-Executive Director

James is the great grandson of the founder of the Company and inventor of Vimto, John Noel Nichols; and son of the non-executive chairman, John Nichols. James has a commercial background and has worked in the business since 2005, undertaking a wide variety of sales and marketing roles.

James is married to Anna, with 2 young children who take up much of their free time. James and his family enjoy travelling and spending time on, in or around the sea.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee consists of John Gittins (Committee Chair), Helen Keays and John Nichols. The terms of reference of the Committee include keeping under review the scope and results of the external audit. The Committee ensures the independence and objectivity of the external auditors, including the nature and extent of non-audit services supplied.

Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee consists of the three Non-Executive Directors: Helen Keays (Committee Chair) John Nichols and John Gittins. The function of this Committee is to benchmark and set remuneration packages for the Executive Directors and senior managers.


Registered Office

Laurel House
5 Woodlands Park
Ashton Road
WA12 0HH
Registration number 238303

Want to talk?

Call us on: 01925 222222

Or if you prefer...

Email Us:

PR Company

Hudson Sandler
25 Charterhouse Square

Copyright © 2016 Nichols plc